top of page

"Yet Another Story" by Fabrice Poussin

Artist Notes:

"Yet Another Story" (7.5" x 13") was created using found objects, found paints, and wildflowers in natural lighting, outside, and photographed with a Leica Camera.


"Modern Couple" (5.5" x 8.3") and "Illusion" (5" x 8.3") were both created under controlled lighting with spray paints, natural flowers and fruit, as well as diverse glass objects before a black background. Both were photographed with Canon cameras.


I am always reminded of Roland Barthes's words in his book on photography, Camera Lucida. He spoke of the idea of the "punctum," or what points to the viewer, and connects him/her to the work in a quasi "umbilical" manner.

What brings me to create new visual pieces is the need to create something new. I do not want to re-create what others have done, or what I have already done. I want to always offer something new to the viewer. I had a notion of working with ice and observing what effects natural flowers would cause if frozen. Later, I discovered a number of abandoned objects in a barn and decided to combine them and create still lives with a different mood. This project continued as I was bequeathed a collection of spray paint cans. I pondered how I may use these and after some experiments realize that I could create stunning effects with diverse flowers. This is a project I plan on continuing this upcoming summer.












2.png
bottom of page