top of page

"The Krakow Nude" by Alina Stefanescu

The framed photo used to hang

in the hall of my single-mom apartment:

hair loose, lips lit by laughter, me naked

but for a man's white cotton undies

& arms angled like unmapped pyramids

behind my head. In my apartment

black mold lined each air vent like velvet

& valiant rats scattered their marble

feces across the floor. I read them like

runes or coffee grounds back then

my husband was just a friend

who came over, drank whiskey,

watched me blend baby food, talking

smack to my toddler, acting shocked

by the Krakow nude I kept. I kept

& keep thinking it was hot & I'm not

sorry & now is now the opposite

of then when it was summer & I was

younger than freedom in Eastern Europe.

I was splendid, the rapt owner of raw,

swollen breasts that could overflow

goblets. I was pregnant & plotting

how to escape the unwanted parts

I was not-yet; the abortion or the

intentional miscarriage. I wore

the plenitude of crimes on my chest

like little bullets that missed me

by an inch.



Alina Stefanescu was born in Romania and lives in Birmingham, Alabama with her partner and several intense mammals. Her writing can be found in diverse journals, including Prairie Schooner, North American Review, FLOCK, Southern Humanities Review, Crab Creek Review, Virga, Whale Road Review, and others. She serves as Poetry Editor for Pidgeonholes, Poetry Editor for Random Sample Review, Poetry Reviewer for Up the Staircase Quarterly, and Co-Director of PEN America's Birmingham Chapter. She was nominated for 5 Pushcart Prizes by various journals in 2019. A finalist for the 2019 Kurt Brown AWP Prize, Alina won the 2019 River Heron Poetry Prize. She still can't believe (or deserve) any of this. More online at www.alinastefanescuwriter.com.

2.png
bottom of page