top of page

"the age-old struggle of being a woman in love that still plagues the 21st century" by Poppy Rosales

let's take away my roots. let’s make me a generic girl with a generic flower name and maybe make a joke or two about that–– about how you “deflowered” me–– but here’s the real joke: i bled for you. and i don’t mean my once monthly crimson river, no, i mean i bled for you. cherry-popping; take this beating, muscular, wasteland with you, because everything it’s pumping out is yours already, anyways. imagine me lying in bed in my finest silk pajamas, loathing thorns once mine. and i, being the generic girl i am, left your apology letter tucked behind some cheap booze. see as a child i kept a dreamcatcher dangling over my sleeping body, but now, it’s this: a dried bouquet hanging in my window to remind me that everything can be taken away somehow. i heard that aphrodite kept a tooth from the boar that killed adonis in a jar on her nightstand, that helen of troy divided her bed in two and slept on the floor between them both. that even my own mother, fraught with good intentions, turns to could-have-been love stories before drifting off. imagine that kind of womanhood: the kind where you cling to the skeletons tucked in besides you in order to, at last, rest.



Poppy Rosales graduated this year from Interlochen Arts Academy as a four year Creative Writing Major and spent her final semester as a Journalism Intern for Visible College in Memphis, Tennessee.

2.png
bottom of page