top of page

"spring meditation" by Nathan Lee

Yes, I am trying,

I am trying to be


good. I can find my way

around my life now


with my eyes pressed

shut. I can soften into


the comfort of making

enough food for tomorrow.


Rice water swirling

down the silver drain;


garlic, shallots, eating

my greens. I can rinse


the cutting board,

slide the knife


back into its wooden

sheath. I have reached


the crossroads

of the open wound


and stepped into the cross-hatch

of April. Winter has faded


past the treeline; an exhale

giving way, the sky purpling


into dawn. I lather my hands

with basil and honey. The scent


lingers. Last night, the field

outside swelling with


rain. Today, a palmful

of creation: yarrow leaves,


apple seeds, the places

where the light gets in.




Nathan Lee is a transgender Singaporean-American poet from the California Bay Area currently studying at UC Davis. His work has been published in Sunday Mornings at the River, Doghouse Press, and Polyphony Lit, among others. Outside of writing, he loves tide pools, evening walks, and petting all the stray cats he can find. He can be found on Instagram and Twitter at @poetrynate.

2.png
bottom of page