top of page

"Mac Miller & Georgia O’Keeffe COLLABORATION TRACK" by Alex Dang

Georgia O’Keeffe made at least 20 / different paintings or drawings / of the same / door / but it’s different every time / because a morning can be / gentle in the spring / & blank bleak in the winter / so Georgia O’Keeffe had these / Doors / is Mac Miller’s favorite track off his critically acclaimed album / GO:OD AM / He says in an interview / that this is him excited again / the opening sets the tone for all that / an entrance to a new beginning / the intro / the door / of her Abiquiu ranch was the reason why / O’Keeffe bought the place / “I used to climb over the wall, just to look at that door” / & now I see a door is something you go through / & throughout her life / she kept staring, thinking, saying: / “I never quite get it / It’s a curse — the way I feel / I must continually go on / with that door” / & I am always scared because / “doors will close & people change” / Mac sings / in the opening of a door there is a way in, yes / but a way out as well & “one day you'll go” / O’Keeffe / My Last Door / oil on canvas / a black rectangle / on white with gray / “right now you're here” / Today / I wake up a new person / “Don’t leave just yet” / I open the door / to my heart / to my home / “Don’t disappear” / I will paint over & over / sing again & again / & never get it perfect / I’m starting on my 27th try / there’s no right way to go through it / & still we always get through it / “Good morning”




Alex Dang is an internationally performing poet, TEDx speaker, and slam poetry champion. Featured on HuffingtonPost, UpWorthy, and EverydayFeminism, his work has been viewed on YouTube over 2 million times. Dang has performed in over 50 cities, 30 states, 6 countries, and wants to know what your favorite food is.


2.png
bottom of page