top of page

"Be Sweet" by Ashley Hajimirsadeghi

after Japanese Breakfast Turn around and look into the camera, then look at me. I want to believe in you. In cinema we can preserve our promises until the end of electricity. Be sweet to me. The world is watching. I hide the scratches on the dining room table so the fisheye lens doesn’t catch how our fingernails embed themselves deeper into the grains of wood. My father taught me Iranian hospitality, to feed the guests until we have nothing left to give. I give you everything, bake as many sweets as possible until your teeth rot with my kindness. Tell the camera you love me in between bites of Funfetti cupcakes. You love me so sweetly you want to vomit up the sprinkles, make art out of stomach acid. It’s not like I’ll believe you anyways. Actors are not meant to share secrets, unless in a blackout. Then we scramble to find faces in the dark.



Ashley Hajimirsadeghi is a multimedia artist and writer. She has had work appear in Barren Magazine, DIALOGIST, Rust + Moth, and The Shore, among others. She is the Co-Editor in Chief at both Mud Season Review and Juven Press, and reads for EX/POST Magazine. More of her work can be found at ashleyhajimirsadeghi.com.

2.png
bottom of page